NOAA's Sustainable Fisheries Leadership Awards

On behalf of NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), Fish for the Future Foundation will be administering and hosting NOAA's 2009 Annual Sustainable Fisheries Leadership Awards. Launched in the fall of 2005, the Sustainable Fisheries Leadership Awards recognize outstanding performance, achievements, and leadership by industries, organizations and individuals whose contributions to science and management have served to promote best stewardship practices for the sustained use of the Nation's living marine resources. This is the forth annual solicitation for nominations.

Nominations will be accepted for the following award categories:

For detailed information about these awards and award categories please visit NOAA's Sustainable Fisheries Leadership Awards website.
NOAA's Sustainable Fisheries Leadership Awards [external link]

2009 Awards Review

Nomination Process:

All nominations must be submitted on the official nomination form. Electronic submissions are encouraged but nominations may also be mailed or faxed to Fish for the Future Foundation (see submission information below). Relevant supporting materials, not to exceed 10 pages in length, may be submitted along with the nomination form. At least one reference is required, however no more than three references or endorsements will be accepted or considered by the review panel. Nominations will be reviewed by the Marine Fisheries Advisory Committee (MAFAC) as well as NMFS leadership, making recommendations to the Assistant Administrator for Fisheries. Final selection of award recipients is made by the Assistant Administrator for Fisheries and the Under Secretary for Oceans and Atmosphere.

Electronic submissions should be sent to:

Mailed submissions should be sent to:
Sustainable Fisheries Leadership Awards, c/o Fish for the Future Foundation
3382 Gunston Road
Alexandria, VA 22302

Fax submissions to: (703) 379-5777

Please contact Michele Seybold, Fish for the Future Foundation, (703) 379-6101, for more information.

2008 Awards Photos

2008 Awards Recipients